2023 Data Science Leadership Summit

Artist rendition of the new CCDS building at Boston University

May 8-10, 2023

Save the Dates!

Boston University
Invitation only. Contact us for details.

Keynote Speaker Announced!

Headshot of Afua Bruce

Keynote Speaker Afua Bruce

AFUA BRUCE is a leading public interest technologist who has worked at the intersection of technology, policy, and society.
Afua is the Principal of the ANB Advisory Group LLC, a consulting firm that supports organizations developing, implementing, or funding responsible data and technology. With her background in software engineering, data science, and artificial intelligence, combined with experience developing and deploying technology in and with communities, Afua incorporates an equity-based framework into her engagements.
Afua is an adjunct professor at Carnegie Mellon University and an affiliate at Harvard Kennedy School’s Berkman Klein Center. Afua’s newest book, The Tech That Comes Next: How Changemakers, Technologists, and Philanthropists can Build an Equitable World, describes how technology can advance equity.


Data Science Organizational Structures
(Institutes vs Departments and Schools)

Chairs: Azer Bestavros (Boston University) and Hridesh Rajan (Iowa State University)

Innovative Partnerships with Industry

Chair: Liz Langdon Gray (Harvard University)

Challenges around hiring faculty

Chair: Jeff Hamrick (University of San Francisco)

Career paths for students

Chairs: Bill Southerland (Howard University) and Amy Yeboah Quarkume (Howard University)

Ramps & Pathways to data science:  K12 and community colleges

Chairs: Rachel Saidi (Montgomery College) and Debzani Deb (Winston-Salem State University)


Start: Monday morning, May 8th, 8:30am

Wrap-up: Wednesday May 10th, 3:30pm

Sponsor the Summit

Interested in Sponsorship? Some levels include invitations! Check them out.

Program Committee

Azer Bestavros

Boston University

Phil Bourne

University of Virginia

Cheryl Brown

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Andy Connolly

University of Washington

Debzani Deb

Winston-Salem State University

Kristin Eschenfelder

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Liz Langdon Gray

Harvard University

Hridesh Rajan

Iowa State University

Sohini Ramachandran

Brown University

Rachel Saidi

Montgomery College

Bill Southerland

Howard University